THE PEOPLE’S RESPONSE to the George W. Bush Library & Policy Institute

As the elite gather to celebrate the dedication of the George W. Bush Presidential Center and cast a veneer of legitimacy on the Bush administration and its policies, join us in Dallas and let your voice be heard!

to the George W. Bush Library & Policy Institute
April 22 – 26, 2013, Dallas, Texas

..coinciding with the dedication of the Bush Presidential Center on April 25.

Bush administration officials, past and sitting presidents, the top of the 1%, and the international press are expected to be there. Will you?
Workshops, teach-ins, art, music, creative direct action, internationally known speakers, and – of course – dance party for peace!

A peaceful, nonviolent march, rally, and demonstration to protest the George W. Bush Presidential Center during its dedication will take place in Dallas on April 25, 2013 as part of a week-long series of events that will move us toward:

Accountability is the hallmark of a mature democracy: no one is above the law! Remind past, present and future administrations that the truth cannot be buried or changed, and warn the public that the same ideologues who crafted the Bush policies of the last decade will be trying to write a script for our future. Will this think-tank develop the same kinds of policies that brought us preemptive war, torture, economic crisis, environmental disaster, unprecedented presidential power, and diminished civil and human rights? Act now! History is already repeating itself!

Speakers and presenters include:

Bill Moyer – artist, activist, and Executive Director of the Backbone Campaign

Kathy Kelly – Director of Voices for Creative Nonviolence; two-time Nobel Peace Prize nominee

Col. (ret.) Ann Wright – US Army, (29 years); Foreign Service Officer, Department of State (16 years); resigned in opposition to the Iraq invasion

Coleen Rowley – former FBI Special Agent and Legal Counsel, 2002 TIME Person of the Year

Leah Bolger – Commander, U.S. Navy (20 years); first female president of Veterans For Peace

Phil Donahue – television talk-show host, writer, recipient of nine Emmy Awards, and producer of the documentary film, “Body of War.”

Tomas Young* – veteran of the Iraq war, activist, and author of “The Last Letter: A Message to George W. Bush and Dick Cheney from a Dying Veteran”

Col. (ret.) Lawrence Wilkerson – former Chief of Staff to U.S. Secretary of State Colin Powell

Carlos Arredondo - Costa Rican immigrant who lost one son to the Iraq war and another to suicide; hailed as a true American hero after rushing to the aid of the injured at the Boston Marathon

Lon Burnam – Texas State Representative and immediate past director of the Dallas Peace Center

Diane Wilson – author, shrimp-boat captain, Mother Jones magazine’s “Hell-Raiser of the Month,” one of Grist’s “13 Badass Greens,” and co-founder of CODEPINK, the Texas Jail Project, and Injured Workers United.

Kevin, Joyce, and Debbie Lucey - proud parents and sister of Cpl. Jeffrey Michael Lucey, a 23 year old USMC reservist forever young, succumbed to the hidden wounds of PTSD

Geoff Millard – veteran of the Iraq war, Chair of the Board of Iraq Veterans Against the War

Rev. Dr. Bill McElvaney – author; Professor Emeritus, Southern Methodist University School of Theology

Salam Talib Hassan – Iraqi refugee; computer engineer, translator and driver for foreign journalists in the early years of the US invasion and occupation of Iraq

Michael Prysner - veteran of the Iraq war; board member of Veterans For Peace; co-founder of March Forward!

Gerry Condon - co-chair of the GI Resistance Working Group of Veterans For Peace; serves on the steering committee of the Bradley Manning Support Network

Hadi Jawad – activist, organizer, and former Dallas Peace Center Peacemaker of the Year

Jacob David George – cyclist, musician, 3-tour Afghanistan veteran, coordinator of Operation Awareness and A Ride Till the End

Medea Benjamin – author, activist, and co-founder of Global Exchange and CODEPINK Women for Peace

David Swanson – author, co-founder of and

Chas Jacquier – veteran of three tours in Afghanistan; Purple Heart and Bronze Star recipient

Debra Sweet – activist, writer, and director of The World Can’t Wait

Molly Rooke - Dallas Sierra Club, Conservation Co-Chair and Responsible Trade Issues Coordinator, Downwinders at Risk, board member.

Gary Stuard - environmental and social justice activist; chair of Downwinders At Risk and Dallas MoveOn

Coleman Smith - field organizer/trainer, New South Network of War Resisters

Clare Hanrahan - writer, author, speaker, activist; asso member, Veterans For Peace, Chapter 99, Grandmother’s for Peace Int’l, New South Network of War Resisters, SMU honors grad

Robert Bell - veteran of two tours in Iraq; member of Iraq Veterans Against the War

Ray McGovern* – US Army Intelligence Officer, Directorate of Intelligence, CIA (30 years)

Drums Not Guns – dedicated to promoting peace through the power of percussion

Emma’s Revolution - smart, funny and informative; like Rachel Maddow and Jon Stewart with guitars